Münsterbauhütte, Freiburg

Gargoyles representing five of the Deadly Sins: Pride (knight), Greed ( man with a pot), Lust (nude woman), Wrath (lion man) and Gluttony (pig), 1300/10

About the object

Depicted here are Pride (a knight), Greed (a man with pot), Lust (a naked woman), Wrath (lion man) and Gluttony (a pig). They were affixed to the octagonal tower about 65 m above the ground. Two of the seven vices, erroneously called deadly sins, have been lost to posterity (Envy and Sloth). They have been replaced by genuine gargoyles.

Object information

Your message about the object

Do you have any information or questions about this object?